Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics

Norbert WienerThe Wiener Prize is awarded for an outstanding contribution to "applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense." 

Prize Details
Since 2004, the US$5,000 prize has been awarded every three years.The American Mathematical Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics award this prize jointly; the recipient must be a member of one of these societies. 

Next Prize
January 2019

Most Recent Prize: 2016
Constantine M. Dafermos received the 2016 Wiener Prize for his foundational work in partial differential equations and continuum physics.

About this Prize
This prize was established in 1967 in honor of Professor Norbert Wiener and was endowed by a fund from the Department of Mathematics of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Previous Prizes
View our prizes and awards archive for more past prize winners.


Photo of Norbert Wiener courtesy of the MIT Museum.

American Mathematical Society