## Committee on the Profession Annual Report 2017

The Committee on the Profession (CoProf) held its annual meeting on October 14-15, 2017, at the Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport. Fadil Santosa, University of Minnesota, chaired the meeting. There was a very full agenda, the highlights of which are summarized below.

## Agenda items that were endorsed by CoProf and will be taken to the Council for consideration:

- Human Rights of Mathematicians: CoProf's annual review, conducted by a subcommittee, dealt with the Committee on Human Rights of Mathematicians (CHRM). It focused on whether CHRM should continue to exist and, if so, what the scope of its concerns and powers should be. CoProf approved a revised charge for CHRM that expands its scope to include human rights violations wherever they occur, and it recommended that the AMS state that it considers sexual orientation and gender identity to be covered by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. CoProf also recommended a change in the AMS Policy on a Welcoming Environment that adds "immigration status" to the list of categories with respect to which participants in AMS activities should not be discriminated against. The members of the subcommittee were Robert Bryant, David Savitt (chair), and Jeremy Teitelbaum.
- AMS Mary P. Dolciani Prize for Excellence in Research: CoProf recommended that the Council approve this new prize, which would be awarded to a mathematician from a primarily undergraduate institution. CoProf also endorsed the creation of a selection committee for the prize and approved its charge.
- Nominating Committee (NomCom): CoProf approved several changes to the NomCom charge and recommended that the Council do the same.
- **Statistics on women mathematicians:** Each year, as required by a motion passed by the Council in 1985, the *Notices* publishes "information on the relative number of men versus women" in several categories, such as speakers in Special Sessions at AMS meetings. CoProf recommended that the Council reframe the question in terms of demographic information, rather than information about "men versus women."
- Joint Data Committee: CoProf endorsed changes in the charge of the AMS-ASA-MAA-SIAM Data Committee that update its principal activities and slightly alter its membership.
- **Bôcher, Cole, and Veblen Prizes:** The Prize Oversight Committee (POC) reported the results of its review of the charges of the selection committees for these three prizes, and CoProf approved several changes in them. The members of the Prize Oversight Committee were Bryna Kra, David Savitt (chair), and Suzanne Weekes.

- Award for Distinguished Public Service: CoProf endorsed changes in the charge of the selection committee for this award. Those changes had been recommended by the committee and by the Secretary.
- **Employment Services Advisory Board:** CoProf voted to recommend that this committee be dissolved, since it had been inactive and had no work to do.

## Other actions taken by CoProf:

- Site visit program to improve the departmental climate for women and minorities: The American Physical Society (APS) has programs under which institutions can request "site visits," for the purpose of improving the climate for women and minorities. CoProf discussed the report of a subcommittee that studied the possibility that the AMS develop a similar program. The subcommittee will defer making a recommendation to CoProf until it has had an opportunity to observe an APS site visit. The members of the subcommittee are Pamela Gorkin, Christine Heitsch, Monica Jackson, Hal Sadofsky, and Fadil Santosa (chair).
- **Open-access policies:** At its meeting in September 2016, CoProf voted to form a joint subcommittee with the Committee on Publications (CPub) to study open access policies and to determine whether any steps should be taken to raise awareness among mathematicians or provide guidelines for dealing with these issues. CoProf discussed the subcommittee's report and recommended that the subcommittee write a readable article for the *Notices* about this topic. The CoProf representatives on this subcommittee are Alicia Dickenstein and John McCleary, and the CPub representatives are Henry Cohn (chair) and Ilya Kapovich.
- Maryam Mirzakhani Memorial: CoProf discussed ways in which the AMS might honor Maryam Mirzakhani and voted to suggest to the Committee on Meetings and Conferences the possibility of naming one of the AMS invited addresses at the Joint Mathematics Meetings after her. This suggestion will also be discussed by the Secretariat.
- **Prize Oversight Committee**: For the coming year, this standing subcommittee of CoProf was charged with exploring strategies for increasing the number of nominations for AMS prizes and awards. Subcommittee members include John McCleary and Jeremy Teitelbaum.
- Annual review for 2018: CoProf chose the Committee on Professional Ethics (COPE) as the topic for its annual review in 2018. A subcommittee comprising Gregory Lawler, Carla Savage, Jeremy Teitelbaum (chair), and a member of COPE will review COPE's charge. In the meantime, CoProf voted to recommend to COPE that it function only in an advisory role when people come to it with disputes and that it should not be involved in mediation or conflict resolution.
- Mathematics Programs that Make a Difference (PTMD): This award recognizes programs that succeed in bringing and keeping "more persons from underrepresented backgrounds into some portion of the pipeline beginning at the undergraduate level and leading to advanced degrees in mathematics and professional success." CoProf selects the

recipient, and in 2017 the awardee was the National Alliance for Doctoral Studies in the Mathematical Sciences (Math Alliance).

## Other business:

- **Committee reports:** CoProf discussed reports from the Committee on Women in Mathematics, the Fellows Selection Committee, and the Committee on Members and Member Benefits.
- **Issues raised by members of the mathematical community:** CoProf discussed several topics that had been raised by members of the mathematical community, including letters of recommendation, diversity, and recent changes in eligibility criteria for Simons Foundation Collaboration Grants for Mathematicians. No formal action was taken.
- **JMM panel**: CoProf will sponsor a panel at JMM 2018 entitled "Paths to Collaboration with Scientists," at 4:30 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, January 10, 2018. It was organized by a subcommittee comprising Albert Boggess, John McCleary, Hal Sadofsky, and Suzanne Weekes. Panelists include Gunnar Carlsson, Ruth Williams, John Lowengrub, Michelle DeDeo, and Ellen Panagiotou. The moderator is Hal Sadofsky.
- Written reports: Staff reports on the following topics were included in the CoProf agenda: the Department Chairs Workshop, Membership Department, Education and Diversity Department, Employment Services of the AMS, Graduate Student Chapters, and Mathematics Research Communities. CoProf decided that, in future years, the chair and the staff liaison should decide which reports will be included in the agenda, perhaps including each report once every two years.
- **Debate about scientific issues**: After its October meeting, CoProf engaged in email discussions about a possible response to the situation of Dr. Rochelle Gutierrez, a mathematics educator who has been the subject of personal attacks as a result of a paper that was published by the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (AMTE). CoProf has not yet taken any formal action.
- Next meeting: The Committee on the Profession will hold its next meeting on September 15-16, 2018, at the Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport.

T. Christine Stevens Associate Executive Director November 14, 2017