Publications Meetings The Profession Membership Programs Math Samplings Policy & Advocacy In the News About the AMS
Who Wants To Be A Mathematician

The National Who Wants to Be a Mathematician


David Vogan and Vivek Miglani

Vivek Miglani won the 2014 national Who Wants to Be a Mathematician at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Baltimore. Vivek is pictured above accepting the trophy from AMS President David Vogan. (Photo: Sandy Huffaker.)

The 10 semifinalists for the 2014 national contest, which took place on January 16 in Baltimore at the 2014 Joint Mathematics Meetings, are:

  • Patrick Guo, Westwood High School, TX
  • Sammy Luo, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics
  • Clark Lyons, High Technology High School, NJ
  • Vivek Miglani, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, FL
  • Emily Mu, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy
  • Shyam Narayanan, Blue Valley West High School, KS
  • Tahsin Saffat, Westview High School, OR
  • Kevin Sun, Phillips Exeter Academy, NH
  • Jesse Zhang, Fairview High School, CO and
  • Dennis Zhao, Montgomery Blair High School, MD

See photos and more information about the contestants.

More than 2000 students participated. This year most students took the qualifying tests online thanks to our sponsor Maplesoft and its online testing system Maple T.A. See the Round Two test with answers and the Round One test with answers.

Topics covered in the game and in the qualifying rounds include algebra, trigonometry, geometry, history of mathematics, probability--everything but calculus.

The top prize in the contest is $5000 for the student and $5000 for the math department at his or her school. There is no fee to participate. Qualifying for the 2015 contest will be in early September (2014). Teachers who would like their students to participate should send an email to paoffice at ams dot org with the subject line National WWTBAM. Include in the email your name, school, and courses taught. Good luck to you and your students!

Read about previous national contests: 2013 (champ Calvin Deng pictured below), 2012, 2011 and 2010 and see previous qualifying tests (2010, 2011, 2012) and keys (2010, 2011, and 2012, and 2013).

Calvin with his "check" From the 2010 contest in San Francisco

Above photo from 2010 contest by E. David Luria.


In addition to the cash prizes in the national contest, there are also prizes donated by: our technoloby sponsor Maplesoft Inc., Texas Instruments, John Wiley & Sons, and the AMS. The game is a program of the AMS Public Awareness Office and was developed by Mike Breen (AMS Public Awareness Officer) and Bill Butterworth (DePaul University ).