Albert Leon Whiteman Memorial Prize

Albert Leon WhitemanThe Whiteman Prize recognizes notable exposition and exceptional scholarship in the history of mathematics.

Prize Details
The US$5,000 prize is awarded every three years.

Next Prize
January 2018

Nomination Period
1 March – 30 June, 2017

Most Recent Prize: 2018
Karen Parshall was awarded the 2018 Whiteman Prize for her outstanding work in the history of mathematics, and in particular, for her work on the evolution of mathematics in the USA and on the history of algebra, as well as for her substantial contribution to the international life of her discipline through students, editorial work, and conferences.

About the Prize
This prize was established in 1998 using funds donated by Mrs. Sally Whiteman in memory of her husband, Albert Leon Whiteman.

See previous prizes

Photo courtesy of Mrs. Sally Whiteman.

American Mathematical Society