American Mathematical Society

My Account · My Cart · Customer Services · FAQ  

Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate Student

Frank and Brennie MorganThe Morgan prize is awarded for outstanding research in mathematics.  It is made jointly by the American Mathematical Society, the Mathematical Association of America, and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

Prize Details
The US$1,200 prize is awarded annually to any undergraduate student in a college or university in Canada, Mexico, the United States or its possessions, for outstanding research in mathematics.

Next Prize
January 2015

Nomination Deadline
June 30, 2014

Nomination Procedure
See Call for Nominations in April 2014 Notices of the AMS
Nominations with supporting information should be submitted, during the nomination period, through this online form: The research paper (or papers) may be submitted for consideration. A curriculum vitae should be included.  Those who prefer to submit by regular mail may send nominations to the AMS Secretary, Professor Carla Savage, Box 8206, Computer Science Department, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 27695-8206. Those  nominations will be forwarded by the Secretary to the prize selection committee.

Most Recent Prize: 2014
Eric Larson received the 2014 Morgan Prize for his truly exceptional record of research. He has so far authored or co-authored eight papers which have appeared in a wide spectrum of research journals.

About this Prize
The prize was established in 1995. It is entirely endowed by a gift from Mrs. Frank (Brennie) Morgan.

See previous prizes

Photo courtesy of the Morgan family.