Leonard Eisenbud Prize for Mathematics and Physics

David Eisenbud

Photo courtesy of David Eisenbud

The Eisenbud Prize honors a work or group of works that brings mathematics and physics closer together. Thus, for example, the prize might be given for a contribution to mathematics inspired by modern developments in physics or for the development of a physical theory exploiting modern mathematics in a novel way.

Prize Details:
The \$5,000 prize will be awarded every three years for a work published in the preceding six years.

Next Prize: January 2020

Nomination Period: 1 March – 30 June, 2019

Nomination Procedure: Include a short description of the work that is the basis of the nomination, including complete bibliographic citations. A curriculum vitae should be included. Nominations for the Steele Prizes for Lifetime Achievement and for Mathematical Exposition will remain active and receive consideration for three consecutive years. Those who prefer to submit by regular mail may send nominations to the AMS Secretary, Professor Carla Savage, Box 8206, Computer Science Department, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 27695-8206. Those nominations will be forwarded by the Secretary to the prize selection committee.

Most Recent Prize: 2017 – László Erdős and Horng-Tzer Yau were honored with the 2017 Eisenbud Prize for proving the universality of eigenvalue statistics of Wigner random matrices.

About this Prize: This prize was established in 2006 in memory of the mathematical physicist, Leonard Eisenbud (1913-2004), by his son and daughter-in-law, David and Monika Eisenbud. Leonard Eisenbud (pictured) was a student of Eugene Wigner. He was particularly known for the book, Nuclear Structure (1958), which he co-authored with Wigner. A friend of Paul Erdõs, he once threatened to write a dictionary of “English to Erdõs and Erdõs to English.” He was one of the founders of the Physics Department at SUNY Stony Brook, where he taught from 1957 until his retirement in 1983. In later years he became interested in the foundations of quantum mechanics and in the interaction of physics with culture and politics, teaching courses on the anti-science movement. His son, David, was President of the American Mathematical Society 2003-2004.

See previous prizes

American Mathematical Society