Joseph L. Doob Prize

Joseph L. DoobThe Doob Prize recognizes a single, relatively recent, outstanding research book that makes a seminal contribution to the research literature, reflects the highest standards of research exposition, and promises to have a deep and long-term impact in its area.

Prize Details
The US$5,000 prize is awarded every three years and the book must have been published within the six calendar years preceding the year in which it is nominated.  Books may be nominated by members of the Society, by members of the selection committee, by members of AMS editorial committees, or by publishers.

Next Prize

Most Recent Prize: 2017
John Friedlander and Henryk Iwaniec received the Doob Prize in 2017 for their book Opera de Cribro (AMS, 2010).

About this Prize
The prize (originally called the Book Prize) was endowed in 2005 by Paul and Virginia Halmos and renamed in honor of AMS President Joseph L. DoobPaul Halmos (1916-2006) was Doob's first Ph.D. student.  Doob received his Ph.D. from Harvard in 1932 and three years later joined the faculty at the University of Illinois, where he remained until his retirement in 1978.  He worked in probability theory and measure theory, served as AMS President in 1963-1964, and received the AMS Steele Prize in 1984 "for his fundamental work in establishing probability as a branch of mathematics.  Doob passed away on June 7, 2004 at the age of 94.

See previous prizes


American Mathematical Society