American Mathematical Society

My Account · My Cart · Customer Services · FAQ  

JPBM Public Information Resource Committee Contacts by Name

[A][B][C][D][E][F][G][H][I][J][K][L][M][N][O][P][Q][R][S][T][U][V][W][X][Y][Z]

 


A

Colin C Adams WILLIAMS CLG
Dept of Math - Williamstown, MA 02167
413-597-3300 Fax: Home:
Email: colin.adams@williams.edu
knot theory, low dimensional topology, 2 & 3-manifolds, undergraduate research

Richard A Askey UNIV OF WI
480 Lincoln Dr - Madison, WI 53706-1313
608-262-2880 Fax: 608-263-8891 Home: 608-233-7900
Email: askey@math.wisc.edu
special functions, Ramanujan, mathematics education

B

Donald M Bardwell NICHOLLS STATE UNIV
Dept of Math, P.O. Box 2026 - Thibodaux, LA 70310-2001
504-448-4380 Fax: 504-448-4927 Home: 504-449-1051
Email: math-dmb@nich-nsunet.nich.edu
general mathematics

Lida K Barrett
Email: lida-k-barrett@worldnet.att.net
calculus reform, math standards (NCTM), educational policy

Arthur T Benjamin HARVEY MUDD COLLEGE
Dept of Math - Claremont, CA 91711 909-621-8688
Email: benjamin@hmc.edu
mathematics education, mental calculation, mathematics of games and gambling, discrete mathematics

Tom R Berger COLBY COLLEGE
Dept of Math & Comp Sci
5830 Mayflower Hill - Waterville, ME 04901-8851
207-872-3502 Fax: 207-872-3555 Home: 207-495-9294
Email: trberger@colby.edu
algebra (group theory), school mathematics, mathematics education

Jerry L Bona UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT CHICAGO
Chair, Dept of Math851 South Morgan Street, Chicago, ILL. 60607-7045
312-996-3044 Fax: 312-966-1491 Email: bona@math.uic.edu
fluid mechanics, partial differential equations, numerical analysis, mathematical economics

Edward Burger WILLIAMS COLLEGE
Dept. of math, Williamstown, MA 01267
413-597-2454 Fax: 413-597-4061
email: eburger@williams.eduWeb page

C

Herman Chernoff (Prof. Emeritus) HARVARD UNIV
Dept of Statistics - Cambridge, MA 02138-2901
617-495-5462 Fax: 617-496-8057 Email: chernoff@hustat.harvard.edu
asymptotics theory, sequential analysis, optimal design of experiments, DNA analysis

Nicholas R Cozzarelli UNIV OF CA BERKELEY
Dept of Molecular and Cell Biology - Berkeley, CA 94720
510-642-5266 Fax: 510-643-1079 Home:
Email: cozzlab@garnet.berkeley.edu
215-898-9748 Fax: Home:

D

Robert L Devaney BOSTON UNIV
Dept of Math, 111 Commington St, Boston, MA 02215-2411
617-353-4560 Fax: 617-353-8100 Email: bob@bu.edu
chaos, dynamical systems, computer experimants, chaos in the classroom

Keith J Devlin STANFORD UNIV
CSLI, Ventura Hall, 220 Panama Street, Stanford, CA 94305-4115
650-724-7202Email: devlin@csli.stanford.edu
mathematics, communication and information, language

Ed Dubinsky (retired)
Email: edd@mcs.kent.edu
learning mathematical concepts, educational use of computers, cooperative learning

Underwood Dudley DE PAUW UNIV
Dept of Math - Greencastle, IN 46135-0037
765-658-4488 Fax: 765-658-4732 Home: 765-653-6574
Email: dudley@depauw.edu
angle trisectors, circle squarers, provers of Fermat's last theorem,other mathematical cranks

E

John H Ewing AMER MATH SOCIETY
201 Charles St., Providence, RI 02904 401-455-4100 Fax: 401-331-3842
Email: jhe@ams.org
topology, history, education, science policy

Richard E Ewing TX A & M Institute for Scientific Computation - College Station, TX 77843-3368
409-845-8817 Fax: 409-845-6077 Home: 409-696-5668
Email: richard-ewing@tamu.edu
scientific computation, numerical analysis, partial differential equations, mathematical modeling

F

Jonathan Farley
Center for International Security and Cooperation, Stanford University
616 Serra Street - Stanford, California 94305650
723 9625; fax 1 650 7254 5683Email: lattice@stanford.edu, lattice@phoenixmath.com
www.hollywoodmath.com, http://cisac.stanford.edu/people/lattice
Mathematical modeling, Mathematics Education

Ben A Fusaro FL ST UNIV
Dept of Math Box 3027 - Tallahassee, FL 32306
850-644-9717 Fax: 850-644-4053
Email: fusaro@math.fsu.edu
environmental mathematics, mathematical modeling, technology in education

G

Ken Gamon CNTRL WA UNIV
Dept of Math - Ellensburg, WA 98926
509-963-2103 Fax: Home: 509-925-5221
Email: gamonK@cwu.edu
special functs,finite series geomtry,Putman exams,math disco

Jacqueline B Giles CENTRAL COLLEGE - HOUSTON COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM
1300 Holman Street - Houston, TX 77004
713-630-1881 Fax: 713-527-3530 Home: 713-495-5422
Email: jbgiles@aol.com

Richard A Gillman VALPARAISO UNIV
Dept of Math & Comp Sci - Chesterton, IN 46304
Email: rick.gillman@valpo.edu

J Inverse Gimbel UNIV OF AK
Dept of Math - Fairbanks, AK 99775
907-474-6102 Fax: 907-474-8411 Home: 907-474-5394
Email: ffjgg@aurora.alaska.edu
graph theory, combinatorics, order

James G Glimm SUNY AT STONY BROOK
Dept of Appl Math & Stat - Stony Brook, NY 11794-3600
516-632-8355 Fax: 516-632-8490
Email: glimm@ams.sunysb.edu
applied mathematics, supercomputing, fluid dynamics

Judy V Grabiner PITZER COLLEGE
424 West 7th St - Claremont, CA 91711-4204
909-607-3160
Email: jgrabiner@pitzer.edu

Judy Green MARYMOUNT COLLEGE
Dept of Math - Arlington, VA 22207-4299
703-284-1678
Email: judy.green@marymount.edu
history of mathematics

Richard K Guy UNIV OF CALGARY
2500 Univ Drive NW, Calgary AB T2N 1N4 Canada403-220-6314
Email: rkg@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
number theory, combinatorics, combinatorial games

H

David Hoffman MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES RESEARCH INSTITUTE
1000 Centennial Drive - Berkeley, CA 94720
510-643-6071 Fax: 510-642-8609
Email: david@msri.org
differential geometry, minimal surface theory, applied mathematics (materials science), computer graphics, visualization in mathematics

I

J

Arthur M Jaffe HARVARD UNIV
Dept of Math 1 Oxford St - Cambridge, MA 02138-2901
617-495-4320 Fax: 617-495-5132
Email: jaffe@math.harvard.edu
mathematical physics, analysis, geometry

K

Alex Kasman COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON
66 George St., Charleston, SC 29424-0001
843-953-5730
Email: kasman@math.cofc.edu
algebraic and geometric aspects of mathematical physics

Linda Keen CUNY
Graduate Center - New York, NY 10036
212-642-2578
Email: keenl@comet.lehman.cuny.edu
complex analysis, dynamical systems

Virginia E Knight MEREDITH COLLEGE (NC)
Harris Hall, 3800 Hillsborough St., Raleigh, NC 27607-5237
919-829-8481
Email: knightv@meredith.edu

Robert P Kurshan AT & T BELL LABS
600 Mountain Ave, Rm 2C-465 - Murray Hill, NJ 07974
908-582-4511 Fax: 908-582-5857
Email: k@research.bell-labs.com
formal verification, model-checking

L

Lew E Lefton GEORGIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY
School of Math - Atlanta, GA 30332-0160
404-385-0052
Email: lefton@math.gatech.edu
engineering and scientific applications, comedy-jokes, nonlinear differential equations

M

William Margulies CAL STATE UNIV LONG BEACH
Dept of Math - Long Beach, CA 90840-0001
310-985-4726
Email: wmarguls@csulb.edu

Stephen B Maurer SWARTHMORE CLG
Dept of Math & Stat 500 College Ave - Swarthmore, PA 19081-1397
610-328-8240 Fax: 610-328-8673
Email: smaurer1@cc.swarthmore.edu
discrete mathematics, algorithmics, mathematics education, writing in mathematics

James Maxwell AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY
201 Charles St, Providence, RI 02904
401-455-4101 Fax: 401-331-3842
email: jwm@ams.org

Cleve B Moler THE MATHWORKS INC
24 Prime Park Place - Natick, MA 01760
508-647-7000 Fax: 504-647-7002
Email: moler@mathworks.com
mathematical software, matrix computation, scientific computation

N

O

Robert Osserman MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES RESEARCH INSTITUTE
1000 Centennial Drive - Berkeley, CA 94720
510-642-0143
Email: ro@msri.org
geometry, analysis, cosmology

P

John A Paulos TEMPLE UNIV
Dept of Math - Philadelphia, PA 19122-2585
215-204-5003 Fax: 215-204-6433 Home:
Email: paulos@math.temple.edu
probability, logic, philosophy of science, mathematical aspects of public policy

Andrew B. Perry SPRINGFIELD COLLEGE
Dept. of Math, 263 Alden St., Springfield, MA 01109
413-748-3193; Fax: 413-748-3347
Email: andy@perry.net
general math, functional analysis, probability, game theory

John F Price MAHARISHI UNIV OF MANAGEMENT
Dept of Math - Fairfield, IA 52557
515-472-4851 Fax: 515-472-1123 Home:
Email: jprice@mum.edu
financial mathematics, risk management, option theory

Q

R

Louise A Raphael HOWARD UNIVERSITY
Dept. of Math, Washington, D.C. 20059-0001
202-806-6830 Fax: 202-806-6831
Email: lar@scs.howard.edu
wavelets, multivariate splines, undergraduate curriculum

Michael C Reed DUKE UNIV
Dept of Math, Box 90320 - Durham, NC 27708-0320
919-660-2808 Fax: 919-660-2821
Email: reed@math.duke.edu
mathematics in life sciences and medicine, mathematical physics, functional analysis

Neville Robbins SAN FRANCISCO STATE UNIV
Dept of Math 1600 Holloway Ave. - San Francisco, CA 94132-1722
415-338-2251
Email: robbins@math.sfsu.edu
number theory

Hugo Rossi, Deputy Director, MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES RESEARCH INSTITUTE (MSRI)
17 Gauss Way, Berkeley, CA 94720-5070
510-643-6040
Email: rossi@msri.org
several complex variables, representation theory

Rudy Rucker SAN JOSE ST UNIV
Dept of Math - San Jose, CA 9519
2Email: rudy@mathcs.sjsu.edu
artificial life, cellular automata, infinity, the fourth dimension

S

Donald G Saari UNIVERSITY OF CA, IRVINE
Dept. of Math, Irvine, CA 9269-3875
949-824-5894
Email: dsaari@math.uci.edu
celestial mechanics, voting theory, mathematical economics

Alan H Schoenfeld UNIV OF CA
School of Education EMST, Tolman Hall # 1670 - Berkeley, CA 94720-1670
510-642-0968 Fax: 510-642-3769 Home:
Email: alans@violet.berkeley.edu
mathematics education

Neil J A Sloane AT & T BELL LABS
180 Park Ave., Rm C233, box 971, Florham Park, NJ 07932-0971
973-360-8415
Email: njas@research.att.com
combinatorics, discrete mathematics, coding theory, communications, lattices, sphere packings, number theory

David A Smith DUKE UNIV
Dept of Math Box 90320 - Durham, NC 27708-0320
919-660-2823  Fax: 919-660-2821
Email: das@math.duke.edu
mathematics education reform, technology in education

Christina Sormani LEHMAN COLLEGE, CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK
Dept. of Math and Computer Science, Bronx, NY 10468
718-960-7422 Fax: 718-960-8969
Email: sormanic@member.ams.org
Webpage: http://comet.lehman.cuny.edu/sormani
Riemannian geometry

Armond E Spencer ST UNIV OF NY AT POTSDAM
Dept of Math - Potsdam, NY 13676
315-267-2063 Fax: 315-267-3176 Home: 315-262-2352
Email: SPENCEAE@spotva.potsdam.edu
mathematics for liberal arts students and prospective teachers,undergraduate programs

Lynn A Steen ST OLAF COLLEGE
Dept of Math - Northfield, MN 55057-1098
507-646-3412
Email: steen@stolaf.edu
mathematics education

Alvin Swimmer ARIZONA STATE UNIV
Dept of Math - Tempe, AZ 85287-1804
602-965-3466  Fax: 602-965-8119
Email: aswimmer@math.la.asu.edu
grassman algebras, geometry, golden proportion

T

U

V

W

Michael D Weiss US DEPT OF AGRICULTURE
Economic Research Svce 1301 New York Ave NW Rm 532 - Washington, DC 20005-4788
202-219-0462 Fax: Home:
Email: mdweiss@econ.ag.gov

Ed R Wheeler ARMSTRONG ATLANTIC UNIV
Dept of Math Comp Sci - Savannah, GA 31419
912-921-2083
Email: erw@armstrong.edu

Alvin M White HARVEY MUDD COLLEGE
Dept of Math 301 E. 12th St - Claremont, CA 91711-5990
909-621-8867 Fax: 909-621-8366 Home: 909-626-7828
Email: alvin_white@hmc.edu
humanistic mathematics

James White UCLA
Dept of Math - Los Angeles, CA 90095-1555
Fax: 310-206-6673 Home:
Email: jhw@math.ucla.edu

Carol S Wood WESLEYAN UNIVERISTY
Dept. of Math, Middleton, CT 06459-0128
860-685-2192 Fax: 860-685-2571
Email: cwood@wesleyan.edu
mathematical logic

X

Y

Z