American Mathematical Society

My Account · My Cart · Customer Services · FAQ  

JPBM Public Information Resource Committee List of Contacts by Topic

This is a list of mathematicians to assist journalists and others. Some individuals below are specialists in several or overlapping fields, and those at the end under "General Mathematics" will offer information and perspectives on a variety of topics.

The AMS Public Awareness Office invites specialists to offer their services as contacts in their field(s) of expertise and interest, and to let us know of address corrections and updates. We also invite journalists and others to contact us with inquiries. Email: paoffice@ams.org.

Mathematics Education, The Mathematics Profession, Mathematical Biology, Game Theory/Economics, Mathematical Physics, Applied Mathematics, Mathematical Modeling, Chaos, Combinatorics, Topology/Knot Theory, History of Mathematics, Computer Graphics/Mathematical Software, Wavelets, Cellular Automata/Artificial Life, Logic, Riemannian Geometry, and General Mathematics.

Mathematics Education
Richard A Askey
UNIV OF WISCONSIN, 480 Lincoln Dr - Madison, WI 53706-1313
608-262-2880 Fax: 608-263-8891 Home: 608-233-7900
Email: askey@math.wisc.edu
special functions, Ramanujan, mathematics education

Lida K Barrett
Email: lida-k-barrett@worldnet.att.net
calculus reform, math standards (NCTM), educational policy

Tom R Berger
COLBY COLLEGE, Dept of Math & Computer Sci 5830 Mayflower Hill - Waterville, ME 04901-8851
207-872-3502 Fax: 207-872-3555 Home: 207-495-9294
Email: trberger@colby.edu
algebra (group theory), school mathematics, mathematics education

Ed Dubinsky
Email: edd@cs.gsu.edu
learning mathematical concepts, educational use of computers, cooperative learning

Jonathan Farley
Center for International Security and Cooperation, Stanford University
616 Serra Street - Stanford, California 94305
650 723 9625; fax 1 650 7254 5683
Email: lattice@stanford.edu, lattice@phoenixmath.com
www.hollywoodmath.com, http://cisac.stanford.edu/people/lattice
mathematical education

Stephen B Maurer
SWARTHMORE COLLEGE, Dept of Math & Statistics, 500 College Ave - Swarthmore, PA 19081-1397
610-328-8240 Fax: 610-328-8673
Email: smaurer1@cc.swarthmore.edu
discrete mathematics, algorithmics, mathematics education, writing in mathematics

Alan H Schoenfeld
UNIV OF CALIFORNIA, School of Education EMST, Tolman Hall # 1670 - Berkeley, CA 94720-1670
510-642-0968 Fax: 510-642-3769
Email: alans@violet.berkeley.edu
mathematics education

David A Smith
DUKE UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math Box 90320 - Durham, NC 27708-0320
919-660-2825 Fax: 919-660-2821
Email: das@math.duke.edu
mathematics education reform, technology in education

Armond E Spencer
STATE UNIV OF NEW YORK AT POTSDAM, Dept of Math - Potsdam, NY 13676
315-267-2063 Fax: 315-267-3176 Home: 315-262-2352
Email: SPENCEAE@spotva.potsdam.edu
mathematics for liberal arts students and prospective teachers, undergraduate programs

Lynn A Steen
ST. OLAF COLLEGE, Dept of Math - Northfield, MN 55057-1098
507-646-3412
Email: steen@stolaf.edu
mathematics education

 

Return to List of Topics

The Mathematics Profession
Keith J Devlin
STANFORD UNIVERSITY, CSLI, Ventura Hall, 220 Panama Street, Stanford, CA 94305-4115
650-724-7202
Email: devlin@csli.stanford.edu
mathematics, communication and information, language

James Maxwell
AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY, 201 Charles Street, Providence, RI 02906
401-455-4101 Fax: 401-331-3842
Email: jwm@ams.org
surveys on the mathematics profession

John A Paulos
TEMPLE UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math - Philadelphia, PA 19122-2585
215-204-5003 Fax: 215-204-6433
Email: paulos@math.temple.edu
probability, logic, philosophy of science, mathematical aspects of public policy

 

Return to List of Topics

Mathematical Biology
Herman Chernoff
HARVARD UNIVERSITY, Prof. Emeritus, Dept of Statistics - Cambridge, MA 02138-2901
617-495-5462 Fax: 617-496-8057
Email: chernoff@hustat.harvard.edu
asymptotics theory, sequential analysis, optimal design of experiments, DNA analysis

Nicholas R Cozzarelli
UNIV OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY, Dept of Molecular and Cell Biology - Berkeley, CA 94720
510-642-5266 Fax: 510-643-1079
Email: cozzlab@garnet.berkeley.edu

Michael C Reed
DUKE UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math - Durham, NC 27701-0320
919-660-2808 Fax: 919-660-2821
Email: reed@math.duke.edu
mathematics in life sciences and medicine, mathematical physics, functional analysis

 

Return to List of Topics

Game Theory, Economics
Arthur T Benjamin
HARVEY MUDD COLLEGE, Dept of Math - Claremont, CA 91711
909-621-8688 Fax: 909-621-8366 Home: 909-621-1863
Email: banjamin@hmc.edu
mathematics education, mental calculation, mathematics of games and gambling, discrete mathematics

Richard K Guy
UNIV OF CALGARY
Email: rkg@cpsc.ucalgary.ca
number theory, combinatorics, combinatorial games

John F Price
MAHARISHI UNIVERSITY OF MANAGEMENT, Dept of Math - Fairfield, IA 52557
515-472-4851 Fax: 515-472-1123
Email: jprice@mum.edu
financial mathematics, risk management, option theory

Donald G Saari
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, IRVINE, Dept of Math - irvine, CA 92697-3875
949-824-5894
Email: dsaari@math.uci.edu
celestial mechanics, voting theory, mathematical economics

Michael D Weiss
U.S. DEPT. OF AGRICULTURE, Economic Research Svce 1301 New York Ave NW Rm 532 - Washington, DC 20005-4788
202-219-0462
Email: mdweiss@econ.ag.gov

 

Return to List of Topics

Mathematical Physics
Arthur M Jaffe
HARVARD UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math 1 Oxford St - Cambridge, MA 02138-2901
617-495-4320 Fax: 617-495-5132
Email: jaffe@math.harvard.edu
mathematical physics, analysis, geometry

Alex Kasman
COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON, 66 George St., Charleston, SC 29424-0001
Tel: 843-953-5730
Email: kasman@math.cofc.edu
algebraic and geometric aspects of mathematical physics

Robert Osserman
MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES RESEARCH INSTITUTE, 1000 Centennial Drive - Berkeley, CA 94720
510-642-0143
Email: ro@msri.org
geometry, analysis, cosmology

Michael C Reed
DUKE UNIVERSITY
Dept of Math - Durham, NC 27701-0320
919-660-2808 Fax: 919-660-2821
Email: reed@math.duke.edu
mathematics in life sciences and medicine, mathematical physics, functional analysis

 

Return to List of Topics

Applied Mathematics
Jerry L Bona
UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS, AUSTIN, Dept of Math, Room 8.100 - Austin, TX 78712
512-471-7162 Fax: 512-471-9038 Home: 512-474-8255
Email: bona@math.utexas.edu
fluid mechanics, partial differential equations, numerical analysis, mathematical economics

James G Glimm
SUNY AT STONY BROOK, Dept of Appl Math & Statistics - Stony Brook, NY 11794-3600
516-632-8355 Fax: 516-632-8490
Email: glimm@ams.sunysb.edu
applied mathematics, supercomputing, fluid dynamics

Lew E Lefton
GEORGIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY, School of Math, Atlanta, GA 30332-0160
404-385-0052
Email: lefton@math.gatech.edu
engineering and scientific applications, comedy-jokes, nonlinear differential equations

 

Return to List of Topics

Mathematical Modeling
Richard E Ewing
TEXAS A & M, Institute for Scientific Computation - College Station, TX 77843-3368
409-845-8817 Fax: 409-845-6077 Home: 409-696-5668
Email: richard-ewing@tamu.edu
scientific computation, numerical analysis, partial differential equations, mathematical modeling

Jonathan Farley
Center for International Security and Cooperation, Stanford University
616 Serra Street - Stanford, California 94305
650 723 9625; fax 1 650 7254 5683
Email: lattice@stanford.edu, lattice@phoenixmath.com
www.hollywoodmath.com, http://cisac.stanford.edu/people/lattice
mathematical modeling

Ben A Fusaro
FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math Box 3027 - Tallahassee, FL 32306
850-644-9717 Fax: 850-644-4053
Email: fusaro@math.fsu.edu
environmental mathematics, mathematical modeling, technology in education

Robert P Kurshan
AT&T BELL LABS, 600 Mountain Ave, Rm 2C-353 - Murray Hill, NJ 07974
908-582-4511 Fax: 908-582-2379
Email: k@research.bell-labs.com
formal verification, model-checking

 

Return to List of Topics

Chaos
Robert L Devaney
BOSTON UNIVERSITY, Dept. of Math 111 Commington St - Boston, MA 02215-2411
617-353-4560 Fax: 617-353-8100
Email: bob@bu.edu
chaos, dynamical systems,computer experimants,chaos in the classroom

Linda Keen
CUNY, Graduate Center - New York, NY 10036
212-642-2578
Email: keenl@comet.lehman.cuny.edu
complex analysis, dynamical systems

 

Return to List of Topics

Combinatorics
J Inverse Gimbel
UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA, Dept of Math - Fairbanks, AK 99775
907-474-6102 Fax: 907-474-8411 Home: 907-474-5394
Email: ffjgg@aurora.alaska.edu
graph theory, combinatorics, order

Neil J A Sloane
AT&T BELL LABS, 600 Mountain Ave., Rm. 2C-376 - Murray Hill, NJ 07974
908-582-2005 Fax: 908-582-3340
Email: njas@research.att.com
combinatorics, discrete mathematics, coding theory, communications, lattices, sphere packings, number theory

 

Return to List of Topics

Topology/Knot Theory
Colin C Adams
WILLIAMS COLLEGE, Dept of Math - Williamstown, MA 02167
413-597-3300
Email: colin.adams@williams.edu
knot theory, low dimensional topology, 2 & 3-manifolds, undergraduate research

John H Ewing
AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY, 201 Charles St., Providence, RI 02940-6248
401-455-4100 Fax: 401-331-3842
Email: jhe@ams.org
topology, history, education, science policy

David Hoffman
MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES RESEARCH INSTITUTE, 1000 Centennial Drive - Berkeley, CA 94720
510-643-6071 Fax: 510-642-8609
Email: david@msri.org
differential geometry, minimal surface theory, applied mathematics (materials science), computer graphics, visualization in mathematics

 

Return to List of Topics

History of Mathematics
Underwood Dudley
DE PAUW UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math - Greencastle, IN 46135-0037
317-658-4488 Fax: 317-658-4177 Home: 317-653-6574
Email: dudley@depauw.edu
angle trisectors, circle squarers, provers of Fermat's last theorem, other mathematical cranks

John H Ewing
AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY, 201 Charles St., Providence, RI 02940-6248
401-455-4100 Fax: 401-331-3842
Email: jhe@ams.org
topology, history, education, science policy

Judy Green
MARYMOUNT COLLEGE, Dept of Math - Arlington, VA 22207-4299
703-284-1678
Email: judy.green@marymount.edu
history of mathematics

 

Return to List of Topics

Computer Graphics/Mathematical Software
David Hoffman
MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES RESEARCH INSTITUTE, 1000 Centennial Drive - Berkeley, CA 94720
510-643-6071 Fax: 510-642-8609
Email: david@msri.org
differential geometry, minimal surface theory, applied mathematics (materials science), computer graphics, visualization in mathematics

Cleve B Moler
THE MATHWORKS INC., 24 Prime Park Place - Natick, MA 01760
508-647-7000 Fax: 504-647-7002
Email: moler@mathworks.com
mathematical software, matrix computation, scientific computation

 

Return to List of Topics

Wavelets
Louise A Raphael
HOWARD UNIVERISTY, Dept. of Math, Washington, D.C. 20059-0001
202-806-6830 Fax: 202-806-6831
Email: lar@scs.howard.edu
wavelets, multivariate splines, undergraduate curriculum

 

Return to List of Topics

Cellular Automata/Artificial Life
Rudy Rucker
SAN JOSE STATE UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math - San Jose, CA 95192
408-924-5147 Fax: 408-924-5080
Email: rudy@mathcs.sjsu.edu
artificial life, cellular automata, infinity, the fourth dimension

 

Return to List of Topics

Logic
Carol S Wood
WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY, Dept. of Math, Middleton, CT 06459-0128
860-685-2192 Fax: 860-685-2571
Email: cwood@wesleyan.org
mathematical logic

 

Return to List of Topics

Riemannian Geometry
Christina Sormani
LEHMAN COLLEGE, CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, Dept. of Math and Computer Science, Bronx, NY 10468
718-960-7422 Fax: 718-960-8969
Email: sormanic@member.ams.org
Webpage: http://comet.lehman.cuny.edu/sormani

 

Return to List of Topics

General Mathematics
Donald M Bardwell
NICHOLLS STATE UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math, P.O. Box 2026 - Thibodaux, LA 70310-2001
504-448-4380 Fax: 504-448-4927 Home: 504-449-1051
Email: math-dmb@nich-nsunet.nich.edu
general mathematics

Edward Burger
WILLIAMS COLLEGE, Dept of Math - Williamstown, MA 01267
413-597-2454 Fax: 413-597-4061
Email: eburger@williams.edu
Web: www.williams.edu/Mathematics/eburger/

Ken Gamon
CENTRAL WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math - Ellensburg, WA 98926
509-963-2103 Fax: Home: 509-925-5221
Email: gamonk@cwu.edu
special functions, finite series geometry, Putman exams, math disco

Jacqueline B Giles
CENTRAL COLLEGE - HOUSTON COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM, 1300 Holman Street - Houston, TX 77004
713-630-1881 Fax: 713-527-3530 Home: 713-495-5422
Email: jbgiles@aol.com

Richard A Gillman
VALPARAISO UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math & Comp Sci - Valparaiso, IN 46383-9978
219-464-5067
Email: rick.gillman@valpo.edu

Judy V Grabiner
PITZER COLLEGE, 424 West 7th St - Claremont, CA 91711-4204
909-607-3160 Fax: 909-621-8481
Email: judith-grabiner@pitzer.claremont.edu

Virginia E Knight
MEREDITH COLLEGE, Harris Hall, 3800 Hillsborough St., Raleigh, NC 27607-5237
919-829-8481
Email: knightv@meredith.edu

William Margulies
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, LONG BEACH, Dept of Math - Long Beach, CA 90840-0001
310-985-4726
Email: wmarguls@csulb.edu

Andrew B. Perry
SPRINGFIELD COLLEGE, Dept. of Math, 263 Alden St., Springfield, MA 01109
413-748-3193; Fax: 413-748-3347
Email: andrew_b_perry@spfldcol.edu
general math, functional analysis, probability, game theory

Neville Robbins
SAN FRANCISCO STATE UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math 1600 Holloway Ave. - San Francisco, CA 94132-1722
415-338-2251
Email: robbins@math.sfsu.edu
number theory

Hugo Rossi
UNIVERSITY OF UTAH, Math Dept - Salt Lake, UT 84112
801-585-5795 Fax: 801-585-3488
Email: rossi@math.utah.edu
several complex variables, representation theory

Alvin Swimmer
ARIZONA STATE UNIVERSITY, Dept of Math - Tempe, AZ 85287
602-965-3466 Fax: 602-965-8119
Email: aswimmer@math.la.asu.edu
grassman algebras, geometry, golden proportion

Ed R Wheeler
ARMSTRONG STATE COLLEGE, Dept of Math Comp Sci - Savannah, GA 31419
912-921-2083
Email: erw@armstrong.edu

Alvin M White
HARVEY MUDD COLLEGE, Dept of Math 301 E. 12th St - Claremont, CA 91711-5990
909-621-8867 Fax: 909-621-8366 Home: 909-626-7828
Email: alvin_white@hmc.edu
humanistic mathematics

James White
UCLA, Dept of Math - Los Angeles, CA 90095-1555
Fax: 310-206-6673
Email: jhw@math.ucla.edu

 

Return to List of Topics