The AMS website will be down for maintenance on May 23 between 6:00am - 8:00am EDT. For questions please contact AMS Customer Service at or (800) 321-4267 (U.S. & Canada), (401) 455-4000 (Worldwide).


AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

William Fogg Osgood


8. William Fogg Osgood (1864-1943)

President, 1905-1906

Ph.D. University of Erlangen, Germany, 1890

Osgood went to Germany from 1887-1890, and returned to Harvard at a time when there was a great revival of mathematical study in America. He taught at Harvard until he retired. His main work was on the convergence of sequences of continuous functions, solutions of differential equations, the calculus of variations and space filling curves. Osgood was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

   For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society