AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Michael Artin


51. Michael Artin (1934 - )

President 1991-1992

Ph.D. Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1960

Artin was awarded the AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement in 2002 for his contributions to commutative and non-commutative algebra and ring theory as well as to modern algebraic geometry, including his Approximation Theorem, his work with Swinnerton-Dyer resolving the Shafarevich-Tate conjecture, and his creation of the concept of"algebraic space" generalizing "schemes." Artin is professor of mathematics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.


 For more information: 



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society