Important information regarding the recent AMS power outage.

The transformer that provides electricity to the AMS building in Providence went down on Sunday, April 22. The restoration of our email, website, AMS Bookstore and other systems is almost complete. We are currently running on a generator but overnight a new transformer should be hooked up and (fingers crossed) we should be fine by 8:00 (EDT) Wednesday morning. This issue has affected selected phones, which should be repaired by the end of today. No email was lost, although the accumulated messages are only just now being delivered so you should expect some delay.

Thanks for your patience.

AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Earle Raymond Hedrick


20. Earle Raymond Hedrick (1876-1943)

President, 1929-1930

Ph.D. University of Göttingen, Germany, 1901

Hedrick taught mathematics at the University of Missouri from 1903-1924, went on to become head of the mathematics department at the University of California from 1924-1937, and then was named Vice President and Provost of University of California, Los Angeles, from 1937-1942. He was instrumental in developing the University at Los Angeles into a strong institution. Hedrick was very interested in and wrote extensively about the problems in the teaching of mathematics (from secondary school through graduate school), and problems of engineers. He was active in the Society for the Promotion of Engineering Education, the American Society of Mechanical Engineering and the American Institute of Electrical Engineers. In 1916, he became first president of the Mathematical Association of America. Starting in 1921, Hedrick served for sixteen years as editor-in-chief of the Bulletin of the AMS, during which time he raised the standard of accepted manuscripts and effective presentation of the complex content-- even meeting with the printer to study the capability of the machines and establishing a style-sheet which improved the process and saved the Society considerable money.

   For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society